Futuristic Shoes and Vintage Silk

Many changes have come to Prime Manor, including a change of employment for me that takes me away from academic work and a renewed focus on my fiction writing. In the meantime, I’ve gotten some nice things in the mail these past few months that I’d like to share.

Swordmaker shoes by Irregular Choice

The customer service people at Topshop were excellent to me in the wake of the two left boot thing. They sent me a nice refund check which I used to buy these Irregular Choice shoes. I’ll have to get some pictures of myself wearing them. The shoes have an ultracozy blue crushed velvet interior. I haven’t worn them out yet, but I do have concerns about two things: One, the shoes have no grip on the bottom and I have been known to take a dive from time to time. Two, the point of the toe, as you can sort of see in the picture, curves upward. The shoe feels kind of awkward on my foot. I’m hoping wear will even out that curving toe thing. Still, these are a retrofuturist’s dream come true. I’ll wear them to the robot uprising. Visit Irregular Choice here.

Vintage Silk Phoenix Shirt


I found this silk shirt on Etsy. It has a beaded panel that attaches to the front with tiny buttons. The bird appears to be a phoenix. I have been looking for more natural fiber clothing lately since it breathes and stays cooler than synthetics. I have this tucked away for a special occasion. I think I will wear it with a skirt and an obi belt. The sleeves are wonderfully full, giving this a sort of sorceress-Stevie Nicks vibe that I’ve been into lately. Yet the high neck and ruffles are severe and governess-like as well. Visit Verite Vintage on Etsy.

Pass the crystal, spread the tarot. Yeah, I know, this isn’t that Alice. I bought this necklace from BellaLili because I’m wearing a lot of matte black metal right now. I liked that the shape was unexpected and that the crystal in the center keeps it ironically pretty. It’s elegant and weird without being cutesy. I was swayed to purchase this item because it’s a once of a kind creation. As with the other items, I haven’t worn it anywhere yet because I don’t often have places to go. I guess I could just start dressing up for Kitty Prime’s amusement.  BellaLili on Etsy.

Coming soon: My new tattoo, makeup, things to sniff and more things I’ve made.

Leave a Reply

