Hell Bent for Leather

I just finished another draft of an article on male subcultural styles, so of course I was looking at pictures of Rob Halford and thinking “damn, I don’t wear enough leather.” This is an entirely natural and understandable thought, as it’s hotter than Lucifer’s balls right now and I can’t even keep up with makeup before it all melts off my face. Also, it is only cool enough to wear leather perhaps 3 weeks out of the year here, and I am constantly guilt-tripping over this truly fantastic leather frock coat my husband bought for me in London—which I haven’t even worn yet because it’s usually too hot and also, where the heck am I going that I need to wear a leather frock coat, Transylvania? It just seems far too anticlimactic to haul the thing out and go groceries shopping in it. It won’t be leather weather for a few more months. Regardless, I have leather on my mind and it’s far safer to write about it than shop.

Exhibit A:

Skirt by Jitrois available from Stylebop.com

I really want a leather skirt like this. Just below knee-length, plain black without any lacing or big visible zippers. The length is important, as the look I’d like to achieve is something in the vein of Gothic Schoolmistress or Annie Lennox: Sadistic Event Planner (see Exhibit B), not Professional Groupie or Kellie Bundy. All I can seem to find in a sane price range (less than I paid for my car, please?) are skirts that are too short, too biker-y or fringed. *Shudder* I think for something like this, faux won’t do, as vinyl tends to be thicker, heavier and stiffer than the real thing. Vinyl lacks that magnificent leather smell. Then there is also the possibility of the vinyl peeling off the fabric base, an issue that I hoped to have given up when I stopped buying stretchy PVC goth Lip Service clothes.

Exhibit B:

This is not Annie Lennox, but it fits that 80s power business thing.

Exhibit C:

Annie Black Leather Spats by AudraJean on Etsy.com

I realize these would look ridiculous on me. I’m short and have daikon legs, but damn, these look pretty cool. The option of switching shoes would make these fun to play with. The whole strappy-leather effect reminds me of Aeon Flux, which has probably influenced my mind far too much. An accessory like this is more likely to be yet another item that can really only be worn at clubs or meetings of the Scorpius Appreciation Society, so I may just admire these from afar for a while. After all, I’ve got two English degrees to feed.

Exhibit D:

Leather Harness by Zana Bayne at Zanabayne.com

Gasp! It’s not black! Zana Bayne has a unique take on leather accessories. This harness would be an excellent way to put a plain outfit over the top. Again, it looks like something I picture characters wearing in Aeon Flux (the cartoon, not the bad movie). I sense a thread here. I actually wouldn’t prefer something like this in red. Red is less flexible. There’ s something about all black that demands depth, textures and attention to shape in order to create subtle contrast. Monochrome invites attention to the fine details that always strikes me as much more luxurious than using colors to create that difference.  Over time I’ve come to realize that red and I don’t always get along. I no longer wear red clothing or nail color, but I will do red hair or lipstick. Magenta is a much better choice for me.

Bayne keeps an interesting blog at www.garbagedress.com. Her semi-goth personal style is intriguing and I experience much envy over her boots.

I could continue. I haven’t even touched Demeter Leather fragrance, black leather opera gloves, boots, leather-bound journals, leather bracelets, dresses or jackets. A follow-up post may be required.

Before I vapourize into a cloud of ectoplasm, I do want to say that I am working on a longer, in-depth post on melancholy. I’ve also got so much makeup I want to review, but I don’t want to photograph myself in it because I always come out looking like a nerdy version of Mrs. Swan trying to do deathrock. Thusly:

I am embarrased that I even know who this is.

Picture that with huge glasses and you’re most of the way there. So, maybe I’ll write about my makeup, or not. It’s all up to the ennui now.

 

One Response to “Hell Bent for Leather”

  1. In love with Exhibit A, I adore pencil skirts.

Leave a Reply

