Holo-Moon Manicure

I wanted to get some pictures of my staggering collection of huge, flashy rings. The two things I really need to stop acquiring are boots and rings. It’s like I’m a dragon with these things, just gathering up a pile of them that I can settle onto and lord over. Once upon a time I had a ring for every finger and insisted on wearing them all at once. Having several crushed rings cut off my hand with wire-cutters in a Borders cafe cured me of that habit. Some of these rings are almost too heavy to really wear. They have a tendency to drop off my fingers at inopportune moments.

My pictures were mostly not great, but as I actually had presentable nails at the time too, I’ll call it a win.  This one in the middle with the huge skull is one I found on Ebay recently. It is heavy. I will wear it on my date with Sauron.

The big black one on my index finger is plastic, but it’s big, and black. I think it came from Target. The purple crystal I don’t even remember where that came from. The tiny pinkie finger ring came from Las Vegas. I should mention, if it isn’t clear from the pictures, that my hands are tiny. I mean, baby monkey tiny. Also, I’m not as orange as I look here. Late afternoon light, weird reflections from the color of the walls.

The filigree one on my index finger is hinged. That came from Ebay. The one in the middle is labradorite. The rose is plastic. On the left hand is a triple-finger ring that just sort of binds your fingers into a flipper.

Left hand, left to right: purple dichroic glass, giant heavy silver thing that looks like it fell off a spaceship, “mystic” topaz–this is an iridescent coating that’s applied to semi-precious stones that turns them into insane pony acid-trip rocks. There are colors this thing throws off that we haven’t even named yet, maaaaaaaan. Right hand: Kind of like half a Deathstar that’s been bejewelled, some lavender cubic zirconia, big silver rectangular dome that I’ve had forever and has turned a gunmetal like color due to oxidation. I don’t have time to polish silver. That what I’ve summoned the Unspeakable Things from the Pit for.

More of the same.

And again.

Here are my nails. I see this moon manicure thing has become all the 23 skidoo with the co-eds these days. Here is my first attempt at it. I used a holographic silver for the “moon” and a deep grey creme for the rest. The camera didn’t pick up the light-reflective power of the silver holographic polish, but in full sun it’s iridescent.

I used some polish guides to make the initial moon shape. After applying the dark grey, I went back over the moon with more silver holographic polish and a tiny brush. It went well, considering I’m usually rubbish at doing my own nails. I coated it all in two layers of clear polish.

Here is my kitty, trying to escape the petting.

I’m still hacking away at the post on melancholy, attempting to finish and post it before the end of the week.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

