Man is least himself when he talks in his own person. Give him a mask, and he will tell you the truth.

I lost Monday to the flu, that’s why there was no music post this week. Lots of other personal business has kept me busy, including a new cat that I sprung from Death Row over the weekend. The cat is a female, black, and looks, as Mr. Prime says, “like a real witch’s cat.” We still haven’t settled on a new name for her. She doesn’t like to sit still for pictures. I might have to sneak up on her while she’s sleeping.

Over the weekend, Mr. Prime and I took in a performance of “The Importance of Being Earnest,” a play that I love for its wit and devotion to serious shallowness. Wilde is a master of the quick, cutting saying. I was reminded often of Morrissey (“Everybody’s clever nowadays.”) and my favorite film, Velvet Goldmine. Wilde makes a brief appearance in this film, but his words come up throughout the movie. In this clip, the line that Ewan McGregor’s character delivers before the kiss is from The Picture of Dorian Gray:

In addition, I’m working on a post about the film Labyrinth, re-editing my fiction manuscript and making absolutely no progress on a sewing project that’s in pieces all over my desk. I’ve made some jewelry that I’m planning on posting pictures of soon. There’s really no action happening on the Etsy store front, so I’ve decided to just focus on making things for myself. I end up keeping half of what I make anyway. My next post should be something more substantive.

Here is another clip from Velvet Goldmine for your viewing pleasure:

“Illusion is the first of all pleasures.” -Oscar Wilde

2 Responses to “Man is least himself when he talks in his own person. Give him a mask, and he will tell you the truth.”

  1. Minakitty (Mary) Says:

    I believe I have that film memorized at this point. I used to watch it every Friday whilst dolling up for the club (in my clubbing days). Funny how my makeup would have more glitter in the end…

    • Ah glitter. Still one of my vices even at my advanced age. I tip my bonnet to you, you’ve probably seen Velvet Goldmine more than I have at this point. I’m still discovering the hidden Oscar Wilde quotes in it.

      I think people underestimate the influence of glam upon Goth. Bauhaus did Ziggy with good cause!

Leave a Reply

