Music for a Monday: Siouxsie and the Banshees

I’m back, but my writing willpower isn’t. I meant to get back into the routine of writing and posting last week, but that just didn’t happen. I couldn’t let another week begin without posting something, so today I’ve collected some Siouxsie performances. I can’t pretend to do Siouxsie’s work justice in a short blog post. Also, I get the feeling I gush over her enough already. So yes, this is a lazy post. If you want to read an in-depth academic consideration of Siouxsie’s aesthetic, I highly recommend The Music of the Goth Subculture: Postmodernism and Aesthetics by Charles Mueller. The chapter on Siouxsie is insightful and one of the better interpretations of her work that I’ve come across.

Now, the music.

Siouxsie has a particularly striking look and the visual performance is as much a part of her art as the music itself. Here she performs “Metal Postcard” in 1978.

“Melt”, performed in 1982. In this video, she looks like an Edward Gorey illustration come to life.

The silent-film vamp effect of her makeup is clearer in black and white. “Candyman,” 1987.

“Spellbound.” Siouxsie wears a yellow dress, still looks totally fierce.

“Into a Swan” recorded in 2007.

What’s your favorite Siouxsie song?

2 Responses to “Music for a Monday: Siouxsie and the Banshees”

  1. It’s a Siouxsie Monday for me as well.
    You can also get a great look behind the scenes from Mark Paytress’ “Siouxsie and the Banshees: the Authorised Biography.”

  2. Into The Light is my favourite. Thanks for the link, academic articles like that are interesting :3

Leave a Reply

